

## **Cabinet**

Tuesday 24 January 2012
4.00 pm
Ground Floor Meeting Room GO1A - 160 Tooley Street, London
SE1 2QH

# Supplemental Agenda No. 1

## **List of Contents**

Item No. Title Page No.

### 6. Deputation requests

1 - 2

To consider any deputation requests.

#### Contact

Paula Thornton 020 7525 4395 or Everton Roberts 020 7525 7221

Or email: paula.thornton@southwark.gov.uk; everton.roberts@southwark.gov.uk

Webpage: <a href="http://www.southwark.gov.uk">http://www.southwark.gov.uk</a>

Date: 20 January 2012

<b>Item No.</b> 6.	Classification: Open	Date: 24 January 2012  Meeting Name: Cabinet
Report title:		Deputation Requests
Ward(s) or groups affected:		All
From:		Strategic Director of Communities, Law & Governance

#### **RECOMMENDATION**

1. That the cabinet consider whether to hear the deputation requests received in relation to the policy and resources strategy 2012/2013 - 2014/15 revenue budget, item 7 on the agenda. (A list of the requests received will be circulated at the meeting).

#### **BACKGROUND INFORMATION**

- 2. When considering whether to hear the deputation request, cabinet can decide:
  - To receive the deputation at this meeting or a future meeting; or
  - That the deputation not be received; or
  - To refer the deputation to the most appropriate committee/sub-committee.
- 3. A deputation shall consist of no more than six people, including its spokesperson. Only one member of the deputation shall be allowed to address the meeting for no longer than 5 minutes. After this time members may ask questions of the deputation for up to 5 minutes. At the conclusion of the questions, the deputation will be shown to the public area where they may listen to the remainder of the open section of the meeting.

#### **KEY ISSUES FOR CONSIDERATION**

4. The council has invited the community to submit their views on the council's budget proposals for 2012/13, including the option for a deputation to be made to cabinet on the 24 January 2012. As a result, it is possible that there will be a number of requests leading up to the meeting. A list of deputation requests received will therefore be maintained and presented to the cabinet for consideration at the meeting.

## **REASONS FOR URGENCY**

5. The cabinet will be considering a report on the policy and resources strategy 2012/2013 - 2014/15 revenue budget and will be asked to consider deputation requests received in respect of this item at this meeting in order to consider their views as part of the budget consultation process.

#### **REASONS FOR LATENESS**

6. The deadline for the receipt of deputation requests was midnight 18 January 2012, after the main cabinet agenda despatch on 16 January 2012.

## **BACKGROUND DOCUMENTS**

Background Papers	Held At	Contact
Deputation correspondence/requests		Everton Roberts 020 7525 7221 / Paula Thornton 020 7525 4395

## **AUDIT TRAIL**

Lead Officer	Ian Millichap, Constitutional Manager					
Report Author	Paula Thornton/Everton Roberts, Constitutional Officer					
Version	Final					
Dated	20 January 2012					
Key Decision?	No					
CONSULTATION WITH OTHER OFFICERS / DIRECTORATES / CABINET						
MEMBER						
Officer Title		Comments Sought	Comments			
			included			
Strategic Director of Communities, Law		No	No			
& Governance						
Finance Director		No	No			
Date final report sent to Constitutional Team 20 January 20			20 January 2012			

## **CABINET AGENDA DISTRIBUTION LIST**

## **MUNICIPAL YEAR 2011-12**

Original held by Constitutional Team; all amendments/queries to Paula Thornton/Everton Roberts Tel: 020 7525 4395/7221 NOTE:

То	Copies	То	Copies
Cabinet Members	1 each	Officers	•
P John / I Wingfield / F Colley / D Dixon-Fyle / B Hargove / R Livingstone / C McDonald / A Mohamed / V Ward	reacii	Constitutional Team, Tooley Street Doreen Forrester-Brown Jennifer Seeley	4 1 1
Other Councillors	1 each	Trade Unions	
C Bowman / A Simmons / T Eckersely / G Edwards / D Garfield / D Hubber / V Mills / D Noakes/ the Right Revd E Oyewole / G Thornton / M Williams		Roy Fielding, GMB Mick Young, Unite Chris Cooper, Unison Tony O'Brien, UCATT Michael Davern, NUT	1 1 1 1
Group Offices		James Lewis, NASUWT	1
Alex Doel, Cabinet Office Tom Greenwood, Opposition Group Office	1 1	Pat Reeves, ATL Sylvia Morriss, NAHT Irene Bishop, ASCL	1 1 1
Press		Others	
Southwark News South London Press	1 1	Shahida Nasim, Audit Commission Robin Campbell, Press Office	1
Members of Parliament		Constitutional Officer	20
Harriet Harman, MP Tessa Jowell, MP Simon Hughes, MP	1 1 1	Total:	72
Corporate Management Team			
Annie Shepperd Romi Bowen Deborah Collins Gill Davies Eleanor Kelly Gerri Scott Susanna White Duncan Whitfield	1 1 1 1 1 1 1		
		Dated: 16 January 2012	